A letter to my papa

Dear papa,



If I start thanking you for all the wonderful things you give to me, be it the roof over my head, the delicious food served on my table or all the luxuries and comforts of the world, it would take me 16 years, 7 months, 1 day and 14 hours to wholly express my gratitude towards you. 

I’d never seen superheroes like Batman, Spiderman, Superman etc, so I really did’nt believe in their existence at all. But, I realised that not all superheroes wear capes, we call them by different names like, Dad, Daddy, Papa, Pa, Baba, Abboo, Appa and what not. Superheroes don’t reveal their identities, do they? I realised that all my life, the one superhero who was protecting me from the worldly dangers, looking after me, providing me strength and motivation was none other than you, Papa. 

I look up to you as a seed does to sun, seeking warmth and energy. 

Papa, you always teach me how to be strong and optimistic in the most dreadful situations. I’ve seen you face the life’s most disastrous phases with a smile so wide. You call them tests, examiner being the God. 🙂

Another thing that I admire the most about you is the way you take care of your parents. 

“You’ll not even come near me when I’m old.” You joke, but for me it will be my worst sin. 

You say there’s no special day as “Father’s day.” Everyday is unique and it’s we who make it special. So here it is, Papa, 

Happy Father’s day!😇 

This is just a token of appreciation for all that you’ve done and are doing for me. I love you beyond all the words that could be written on the paper. 

Another thing that you need to know is that you’re the…👇👇👇

Love,

Your daughter


Thank you for reading this open letter to my papa! 😇


Love what you write. Write what you love.


Love,

Shonessa❤

40 thoughts on “A letter to my papa

Add yours

  1. That was beautiful, I even shed a tear there. It takes someone special to open up to a world online; I’ve been working on that for my self. Thank you for doing so today. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑